Student Forum

2017 Bob Gay Student Scholarship


Congratulations to 2017 Bob Gay Scholarship Winner, Crystal Whitmore, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences!

This scholarship was established by Kim Kowalczik in memory of her father, Bob Gay, who made significant contributions to the education of cytotechnology students and was a founding member of the ASCT. The scholarship awards $1,000.00 and sponsorship (travel and accommodations) to the upcoming  ASCT annual conference to an outstanding student.  

Candidates must have completed the first six months of training in an accredited cytotechnology program and must be members of the ASCT. The award is based on academic performance, financial need, service and a demonstrated potential to make significant contributions to the cytotechnology profession.  Student membership with ASCT is complimentary and is a requirement for the scholarship application.




ASCT Student Case Presentations

Congratulations to the 2017 Student Presentation Winners!

1st - Amanda Vallow, UT at MD Anderson School of Health Professions

2nd - Franklin Barber, UT at MD Anderson School of Health Professions

3rd - Christina Barbato, Thomas Jefferson University

Computer Winner - Swati Gupta, Thomas Jefferson University


ASCT invites Cytotechnology students enrolled in cytotech programs to participate in the ASCT Student Case Presentations at our 2018 Annual Conference.  Present what you have learned during your cytology training and you will have the opportunity to win up to $150!

Up to 10 students are selected to present their case presentation in person. Because we know that not all students can attend the conference, we also invite all students to submit their presentation for a computer loop that is shown during the break time sessions of the conference.  All student registration will be paid for by the ASCT Foundation! Remember, students must be ASCT members to receive the free registration. 

For more information, contact ASCT Education Chair, Changhong Ye.  Deadline for application is February 24.

ASCT Warren R. Lang Student Awards will be given to the presentation winners ($150 for first place, $100 for second place, and $50 for third place).

Submission Forms
Click here for the Guidelines for Case Presentations
Click here for the Student Submission Form


Student Membership

Open to students enrolled in approved schools of cytotechnology. A letter from the school (including completion date) is required for membership.  Student membership is complimentary.  Upon graduation, current student members can renew at the rate of $30, for their first year of employment. Join today!

For more student resources, click here.

Warren R. Lang Student Awards

Each year at the ASCT Annual Scientific Conference, all currently enrolled cytology students are invited to present an interesting case. The ASCT/Warren R. Lang Student Awards are presented to the students with the best interesting case presentations.   ($150 for first place, $100 for second place and $50 for third place).

Both content and presentation are considered when determining awards. All student participants will each receive a "Certificate of Recognition" and be acknowledged in the ASCT Voice and on the website. This is a wonderful opportunity for students to showcase their talents and meet and interact with other students and cytotechnologists. 

Use your membership to show support for such continued activities and efforts on your behalf and for our profession. And to acknowledge your fellow cytotechnologists who as ASCT Board Members, Regional Directors, Committee Chairs and Committee members volunteer thousands of hours annually to ensure that the mission and goals of the Society are accomplished. 

As you can see the ASCT has been busy this year in fulfilling our mission and vision, to serve you and our profession as the collective voice for cytotechnologists. 

  • ASCT represented the cytotechnology profession by attending and participating in the meetings of the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Advisory Committee (CLIAC), and sponsoring a survey to address the Notice of Proposed Rule Making (NPRM) for cytology Proficiency Testing (PT). Our membership survey results were presented to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS).
  • ASCT represented cytotechnologists in the workforce by becoming an active member organization of the Coordinating Council on the Clinical Laboratory Workforce (CCCLW).
  • ASCT represented cytology laboratories as an active participant in the Joint Commission (JC) Professional and Technical Advisory Committee (PTAC), helping to develop and revise cytology accreditation standards for the JC Standards Improvement Initiative (SII). The ASCT is also an active member of the Cytopathology Education and Technology Consortium (CETC), contributing and endorsing the “HPV Test Utilization” document this year.
  • ASCT represented cytotechnology educators by endorsing the “Cytology Schools Under Threat” letter sponsored by the American Society of Cytopathology (ASC) and co-sponsoring a Cytotechnology Educators’ Forum with the ASC.