Foundation Awards

 The ASCT formed the ASCT Foundation in 1998 to support the educational goals of our membership, and to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to field of cytotechnology and the ASCT. Made possible by tax-deductible donations, the Foundation has been proud to fund awards such as the Marion and Nelson Holmquist Cytotechnologist Achievement Award, the Allen Achievement in Writing Award, and the Warren R. Lang Memorial Student Presentation Awards.

The ASCT Foundation continually strives to honor the ASCT founders, and the passion and dedication they demonstrated as they formed our organization, by pursuing the continual growth of the ASCT Foundation for the support of our profession.

Holmquist Cytotechnologist Achievement Award Recipients

2019 - Changhong Ye
2018 - Victoria Lingua
2017 - Jorge Franco
2016 - Don Schnitzler
2015 - Fern Miller
2014 - Joan Rossi
2013 - Mary Ann Friedlander
2012 - John Shalkham
2011 - Sandra Giroux
2010 - Janie Roberson
2009 - Lynnette Savaloja
2008 - Bob Gay
2007 - Sue Zaleski
2006 - Brenda Schultz
2005 - Kalyani Naik
2004 - Nancy Yockel
2003 - Beverly Haigler
2002 - Gary Gill
2001 - Brent Brewerton
2000 - Not Presented
1999 - Deanna Iverson
1998 - Brent Brewerton
1997 - Roger Wall
1996 - Roberta Goodell
1995 - Karen Allen
1994 - Shirley Greening
1993 - Jean Hand Triol
1992 - Roberta Goodell
1991 - Elsie Carruthers
1990 - Pat Ashton

Warren R. Lang Student Awards

Arguably, the most anticipated awards presented by the ASCT are for the student case presentations given every year at our Annual Conference. Originally presented to a single graduate of an accredited School of Cytotechnology, the Warren R. Lang Award was established in 1989 by the ASCT Executive Council in memory of Dr. Warren R. Lang.

Dr. Lang was professor of Cytotechnology and Medical Director of the School of Cytotechnology in the College of Allied Health Sciences of the Thomas Jefferson University in the 1970’s, and was later promoted to Chair of the Department of Pathology in 1983. He was a relentless advocate for cytotechnologists, cytology students, and pathology residents and enjoyed teaching immensely. Dr. Lang was supportive of the formation of the ASCT and believed it was a Cytotechnologists’ right, if not their responsibility, to have a strong influence in their profession.

Currently, students who give case presentations at the Annual Conference are eligible for this award. The first place winner of this award receives $150 and a one year membership to the ASCT. The second and third place winners receive $100 and $50, respectively.

To learn more and see the winners, visit the Student Forum web page.

President’s Award

The President’s Award, originally called the Presidential Prerogative Award, was established in 1991 and is presented to an outstanding member of the ASCT by our president in recognition of outstanding service during his or her term. The Recipient of this award is presented a commemorative plaque.

2019 - Jodie Woodside

2018 - Eliza Enstine & Michele Smith
2017 - Catherine Smith
2016 - Michele Smith
2015 - Vivian Pijuan Thompson
2014 - Joan Rossi
2013 - Joan Rossi
2012 - Lynnette Savaloja
2011 - Eliza Enstine and Karen Chau
2010 - Sandy Giroux
2009 - Sandy Giroux
2008 - Sandy Giroux and Joan Rossi
2007 - Janie Roberson
2006 - Nancy and David Yockel
2005 - Fern Miller, John Shalkham and Debbie Hillsdon-Smith
2004 - Not Presented
2003 - Sue Zaleski
2002 - Fern Miller
2000 - Claire Eklund
1999 - Mary Reilly
1998 - Brent Brewerton
1997 - Deanna Iverson
1996 - Not Presented
1995 - Not Presented
1994 - Sue Zaleski
1993 - Roger Wall
1992 - Jean Hand Triol
1991 - Tom Eells

Allen Achievement in Writing Award

The newest Award that is granted by the ASCT Foundation is the Allen Achievement in Writing Award. This award is named after Karen Allen, who was the 2002-2003 President of the ASCT and served as the editor of the ASCT NEWS from 1996 to 2004. She established this award in 2004 to acknowledge and encourage individuals for excellence in writing. All articles with a byline published in ASCT Voice are eligible for the annual award with no application necessary. Selection by a panel will be made based on the quality of writing and the subject matter. Winners of this award receive $100 and a commemorative plaque.

Allen Achievement in Writing Award Recipients

2019 - not presented
2018 - Sallie MdAdoo
2017 - Michele Smith
2016 - CAP Foundation
2015 - Mary Ann Friedlander
2014 - Connie Erdmann
2013 - Matt Riding
2012 - Tim Feit
2011 - Carol Colasacco
2010 - Katherine Mycek
2009 - Michele Smith
2008 - Barbara McGahey-Frain
2007 - Mary Ann Friedlander
2006 - Thomas Scherbl
2005 - Beverly Haigler

Rookie of the Year Scholarship Award

Congratulations to Eric Dufour, 2019 recipient!

ASCT is pleased to continue the Rookie of the Year Scholarship established by Victoria Lingua.  2018 was the first year that the scholarship was awarded, and again in 2020 it will support an individual in attending the ASCT Annual Conference, May 1-3. The winner will receive $900 to use towards expenses for attending the annual conference. 

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Applicant must be an active ASCT member
  • Applicant must be in their first 5 years of practice

    Expectations of Applicant/Recipient:

  • Complete application submission form 
  • Submit an essay for review by the Executive Council, to be published in the Voice
  • The individual is expected to attend the ASCT Annual Conference and use the award for meeting related expenses.

Essay Criteria:

  • Two page maximum
  • The essay should highlight the following:
    • What the ASCT means to you and how you plan to become more involved
    • Why attending the ASCT meeting is of value to you
    • Why this scholarship is important to you at this point in your career
    • Other information you deem relevant